Ignoring the intimidation from my own mind

The first post. An oddly intimidating endeavor.  Do you know that feeling when you get a new journal? The beautiful cover, the smell of new paper, and the crisp white of those new pages. An excitement builds as you press the tip of your pen to the page. The line of the ink forming letters on the otherwise entirely blank page. And then …..oh crap. In the excitement of starting a new journal, being so focused on the perfection that it was, that the perfection is a bit ruined.

That’s kind of the intimidation that I’m feeling right now, with this first blog post. Of course, not everyone might have had an experience quite like that. I realize my obsession with blank notebooks might be abnormal. That, and not everyone is as clumsy as I am, so the pen spitting ink might not have happened either.

I have only ever made one first blog post before. March 18th 2009. I was twelve (Probably. It’s midnight and math is not my strong suit) and I had written blog entree instead of blog entry. Admittedly, not one of my proudest moments.  A lot in my life has changed since then. That in and of itself seems obvious. Who’s life hasn’t changed between being twelve and nineteen? But I have managed to fight an illness, and God willing in February, the worst will be over. At some point, when I find the inclination I will add a page about the illness. But I don’t want to write about it here. I spent too much of my life dwelling on it, because it was all I had. No more. This blog, will be about me and my opinions however strange and random they might be.

So….There you have it. My first post. Perhaps a disaster, just an ink splatter on the page. I’m not sure if this post will be all I had intended. An insight into me, and what this blog will be. But at least the blog is no longer blank. And that’s really all that matters. Coming up with something, be it “Once upon a time” or “In the beginning” or a slightly rambling post, to start with.

This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ignoring the intimidation from my own mind

  1. Liz Borden says:

    So proud of you darling girl. Looking forward to your new writings. I too love the freshness of a new journal. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

